The Indian cricket team arrived in New Delhi after a 16-hour flight from Barbados, where they were stranded for three days due to severe weather conditions. Cyclone Baril forced the players to extend their stay in the island nation, prompting the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to arrange a special flight for them. Not just the players and their families, the Indian board also flew Indian journalists to the event in Barbados, saving them from the unpredictable weather that resulted in the cancellation of all flights to the city.

But, what did the players do on the 16-hour long flight? It has been reported that the Indian cricketers were posted in the business class section of the flight while the reporters were in the economy class. Journalists were asked not to click pictures as the Indian players wanted the whole affair to remain private.

In what was an incredible gesture by the board, journalists were also allowed to hold the T20 World Cup trophy and take pictures with it.

While much of the matter remains private, it has been reported that Indian captain Rohit Sharma, vice-captain Hardik Pandya, Yuzvinder Chahal, Surya Kumar Yadav and head coach Rahul Dravid spent some time with journalists in economy class, labeled has gone As an incredible gesture from them.

Jasprit Bumra reportedly had little time to spend with others as he was constantly busy looking after his son Angad.

Air India special charter flight AIC24WC — Air India Champions 24 World Cup — which departed from Barbados at 4:50 am local time on Wednesday, after a 16-hour non-stop journey at 6 am (IST) on Thursday. Reached Delhi.

Heavy security was deployed at the Indira Gandhi International Airport to keep the crowd at bay, but that did not dampen spirits as fans cheered star batsman Virat Kohli, captain Rohit Sharma and outgoing head coach Rahul Dravid. Raised posters and expressed happiness.

Two buses were parked outside the T3 terminal to take the players to the ITC Maurya Sheraton, where they were welcomed by drums and traditional Bhangra dancers.

Most of them, including captain Rohit Sharma, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Surya Kumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant, shook their legs with the assembled dancers, giving them a memory of a lifetime.

Even the security personnel on duty had smiles on their faces as the players let their hair down after a long journey, shook hands with everyone and cut the cake prepared for them and went to their rooms.

All this came amid the expected media frenzy. Shortly after, he left to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence, continuing a busy schedule that awaited him throughout the day.

Earlier at the airport, the players got out in twos after completing the immigration formalities.

Tired but excited, they acknowledged the waiting fans by waving and flashing warm smiles.

Surya Kumar, who took David Miller’s sensational match-winning catch in the final, looked the most animated in responding to the cheers.

Pant, who returned to international cricket at the recently-concluded event after a fatal car accident, greeted the crowd, while fast bowler Mohammad Siraj threw flying kisses in his direction.

Rohit and player-of-the-final Kohli, who both retired from the T20Is at the end of India’s campaign, were among the last to come out of the VIP exit.

Rohit lifted the coveted trophy to give fans a glimpse before boarding the bus. Kohli gave a thumbs up to acknowledge the support from his side.

In their excitement to see their heroes in person, some fans claimed to have been waiting outside the airport since last night.

“We have been here since last night,” said a group of fans. It was very important for us to win this World Cup after losing the ODI World Cup last year.

The squad won the country its second T20 World title, ending an 11-year wait for the ICC trophy on Saturday. India’s previous ICC title was in 2013 when they won the Champions Trophy under Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

His first World Cup titles came in 1983 (ODI), 2007 (T20) and 2011 (ODI).

With PTI input

The topics mentioned in this article.

(Tags to Translate) India (T) Rohit Gurunath Sharma (T) Surya Kumar Ashok Yadav (T) Hardik Himanshu Pandya (T) ICCT 20 World Cup 2024 (T) Cricket NDTV Sports

Source link