In a sign that relations between the Trinamool Congress and the Indian bloc are improving after the pre-polls, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is likely to campaign for Priyanka Gandhi Vadra in Wayanad.

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee. (PTI file photo)

Priyanka Gandhi is foraying into electoral politics from the Kerala seat that her brother Rahul Gandhi won earlier this month. Rahul Gandhi won the Lok Sabha elections from Rae Bareli and Wayanad — both by a margin of over three lakh votes. He has retained the constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Now watch your favorite game on cricket. Anytime anywhere. Find out how

Mamata Banerjee And the Congress did not contest the West Bengal Lok Sabha elections in alliance as they were kicked out due to disagreements over seat allocation. However, the two parties remain allied at the national level under the Bharatiya Bloc umbrella.

Banerjee had suggested this in December. Priyanka Gandhi Will have to compete against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi Reported NDTV said with reference to sources.

This information has not been independently verified by HT.

Relations between the TMC and the Congress soured when the latter’s Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary made public statements targeting Mamata Banerjee.

The TMC later blamed Chaudhary for its decision to contest the Lok Sabha elections alone in West Bengal.

Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary Behrampur Lok Sabha constituency lost to TMC’s Yusuf Pathan. He had won this seat five times in a row.

According to the channel, his loss has served as a catalyst for a growing rapport between the two parties.

Trinamool Congress won 29 out of 42 constituencies in West Bengal. It won 22 seats in the 2019 general elections.

The Indian bloc lost the Lok Sabha elections but managed to prevent the Bharatiya Janata Party from crossing the majority mark.

The BJP won 240 Lok Sabha seats – 32 short of the majority mark. The party formed the government in alliance with Telugu Desam Party, Janata Dal (United) and Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena.

BJP leader Narendra Modi became the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term. However, for the first time in his career, he is running a coalition government.

Get current updates on India News, Budget 2024, Today’s weather along with Latest news And Top headlines From India and around the world.

Source link